Daily Archives: June 10, 2018

Paperwork and Updates

Quilt Show  and Fair season is fast approaching.   First I had to decide if I would enter and what shows and fairs I would enter.  Laclede County Fair is first.  Entries have to be delivered July 7th.  Paperwork is filled out at time of drop off.  I will be entering and machine pieced and quilted sampler from our Saturday Sampler Group  2016 version.  It was a little late getting finished on time to enter for last year so it’s this years entry.  This is the only time this will be entered in a Fair or Quilt Show.  It will be delivered to the gift recipient after the show.

I have decided that A Boy and A Girl quilt pattern by Kim McLean , but I’m calling it Altered Perception of Album Quilt, will be entered in the Laclede County Fair, the Ozark Empire Fair, and the Ozark Piecemakers Quilt Guild Show.  This was a big decision for me.  The Ozark Fair and the Quilt Guild Show are judged by certified judges.  I have been encouraged by friends to enter my work.  I have not always been certain that my work was good enough.  It’s my passion and I love applique but to be judged on execution is a little intimidating.  Because as in life, we all have good days and not so good days.  Sometimes my sewing is exceptional and some days, well you know, not so good.  It’s a big deal for me to put myself out there to be critiqued.  Vickie Clancy, my awesome quilter, has been posting works in progress on Instagram.  I get giddy each time I see a new one.  After all I did spend 2 years 3 months making this quilt.  She is doing an awesome job, as always.  Here is a photo.  To say the least I am very excited about my quilt.  The paperwork has been completed for entry.  Each show has different categories, it gets confusing what to choose when filling out the forms.  Big sigh.  34782975_10156304408948608_1773081152555319296_n34398670_10156304409508608_3190583483093221376_n

Onward and upward now.  Here is a photo of my flower bed I completed this year.

IMG_0105

Current projects.  As always I have numerous projects going and yes most if not all include applique.  I am still working on Bed of Roses pattern by Sue Garman.  We’ve all heard stories that begin with “on the way to……”   Well…… I was working on a set-in block and decided I did not care for the placement of the leaves on the arc.  I pulled them off and was going to re-glue them and when I squeezed the glue bottle the whole tip spit out and a tablespoon of glue poured onto my block.  YIKES!!!!!  What a mess.  I think I am going to have to remake the leaves.  I cleaned it up as best as I could, but have been too afraid to peak at the damage.  Coward that I am, I have been appliqueing the scallops on the first border, too afraid to look at the block.  I will try to be brave today and take a peak at it and see if the leaves are salvageable.  Just a little set back is all.

I have been prepping the next block and got it all prepped.  Just have to prep the set in block and month five will be ready for appliqueing.

001002003

Still using the freezer paper, starch, prepared edge technique.  As you can see lots of circles.  Perfect Circles are my new favorite way to achieve “perfectly round spheres” to applique.  Love love love them.

Then I signed up for a new BOM (block of the month).  This one is Jen Kingwell’s pattern Golden Days.  It is a fun quilt and the best part is I signed up for it from Jen’s own shop in Australia.  I’m getting awesome fabrics chosen by Jen herself for this project and some lovely Liberty of London fabrics thrown in.  So excited.  Here is my first block.  Going to be a fun project.  It will be challenging having curved piecing involved.  I might have to do a little hand piecing.  Haven’t done that since I made a Drunkards Path quilt.

IMG_0104

I’m off to enjoy my day with a little yard work and quality sewing room time.  Have a Blessed Day everyone.

Sissy Malone


Sewn Up

TeresaDownUnder

abyquilts

Sharing the joy of quilt-making

Chopin - A Passionate Quilter From Texas

I love to share my Quilting projects with other Quilters. My goal is to share my progress on projects that I am working on. I would love for you to follow along with me during my endeavors. I hope you enjoy watching me tackle new techniques and projects. Hopefully you can learn from my "hiccups" and mistakes and make your journey easier.

Quilts By Lucinda

I rescue, rehab, reuse or re-home old and vintage quilts.

Storied Quilts

There's a story for every quilt and there's a quilt for every story.

One Creative Family

so many crafts so little time

The Lilac Cat

Quilting and sewing

Molly Motor On The Road

Two dogs and a Toyota Mini Cruiser

The quilter on the hill

Quilts make me Happy! Do what makes you Happy!

Appliquenut

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Rose Prairie Quilts and Farm

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Stitching Impressions

All aspects of longarm quilting

Texas Quilting

- Quilting in the Lone Star State

gladiquilts

This is the blog site for Gladi Porsche's Quilts

Esther's Design Blog

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Krista Withers Quilting

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

A Passion for Applique

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Glorious Applique

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Ruthie quilts! And quilts...

Just another WordPress.com weblog