Fairs and Quilt Exhibits

Yesterday was spent with Saturday Sampler Group and the Ozark Fair in Springfield, MO.   The Show and Tell at Saturday Sampler was very nice.  I always enjoy seeing what other quilters are working on or have completed.  Then of course we get the new block for our Sampler.  A little shopping, needed some zippers for the pouches I am making from the Moda tiny charm packs, a free pattern from Pat Sloan and The Fat Quarter Shop.  I’ll post when I am finished.  Waiting for batting and interfacing to come in mail.  I just love mail order.  Particularly since I live in the boondocks and everything is 30-60 minute drive away.

Then on to the Ozark Empire Fair Grounds.  Of course it’s raining, did remember to bring my umbrella.  My main reason for going tothe fair is to have my corn dog  view the quilts exhibiting and walk through the E-Plex and see what is being sold that I absolutely cannot live without.

The corn dog was awesome.  My friend Debbie told me I had to have fried oreos as well.  On top of the corn dog not such a good idea.  Mega heartburn from the fried food.  Rolaids my new BFF.

The quilt exhibit was very inspiring.  Wow what talent, creativity and inspiration.  Below are some photos I took and the name plates for each quilt.

001002003004005006007008009

I am always drawn to applique, hand quilted, or embellished intricate quilts.  I admire the work that goes into them.   I stand and look and think someday, maybe.  There is so much talent that I am hopeful that some of it will transfer to me by osmosis just by being in proximity to these beautiful quilts.  Then homeward bound being inspired to get back to work on my own projects.

I didn’t get any sewing done yesterday since I was nursing a huge case of indigestion from the food I ate at the fair.

Today, I am feeling better, the sun is shining the temperatures are within reason making for a very nice day.  I started and completed the block for August I got from Saturday Sampler Group yesterday.  The owner of the shop designs the quilts each year.  She listens to her customers and apparently there is an aversion to applique with many of her clientele.  But with  a few more members of the Saturday Sampler showing an interest in applique she has included just a tiny bit of handwork in a couple of blocks this year.  The first applique to appear is in this month’s block which is a basket block where the handles are appliqued.  Now it’s not  such a huge leap as these little bias strips can be machine appliqued onto the block.  Of course I hand appliqued them as that is my nature.  I completed my block today so I can scratch it off my August To Do List (I love my Lists).

010011

Now I have to move on to the next item on my list and that is my very own UFO Basket Quilt.  I have to finish 3 blocks for it this month as well a complete Month # 6 on the feathered star quilt.  I would also like to finish appliqueing block 1 of A boy and A girl.

I guess I better get back to it.

Have a wonderful day and many blessings to you.

Sissy Malone

About Sissy Malone

I've been actively sewing since Jr. High School. But specifically drawn to quilting since I was 17/18 years old. My grandmother was a quilter and I became fascinated with the process. I fell in love (awestruck) is a better word viewing applique quilts by Gladys Rashka at the Minnesota State Fair in the 70's. A love affair was born of applique quilts. I still machine piece, but am always drawn to applique. I took classes learning different techniques and also traveled to California and studied a whole week at Asilomar with Elly Sienkiewicz. Quilting is my passion. I am always open to learning a new technique but still rely on handwork. View all posts by Sissy Malone

Leave a Reply

Appliquenut

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Rose Prairie Quilts and Farm

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Stitching Impressions

All aspects of longarm quilting

Texas Quilting

- Quilting in the Lone Star State

gladiquilts

This is the blog site for Gladi Porsche's Quilts

Esther's Quilt Blog

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Krista Withers Quilting

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

A Passion for Applique

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Glorious Applique

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Ruthie quilts! And quilts...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Simple Bird Applique

Making a quilt.....one stitch at a time.

Tim Latimer - Quilts etc

My adventures in Quilting and Gardening

Quilting Sharon Runs...

What's happening in my life

Lucie The Happy Quilter's Blog

Tales of a Seasoned Quilt Maker

Wattlebird Designs

Quilting Patterns with a French accent

