Plodding along with purpose.

This past week wasn’t very productive sewing wise.  But then yesterday was very productive.  I finished hand appliquéing Mr. Funny Bunny block from Sue Garman’s Autumn Joy pattern.   I am now ready to start appliquéing the second block.  I have it prepped (spray starch and freezer paper method).  I have really fallen in love with this technique.  Previously I was in the needle turn camp.  Nice to have that in my tool box when necessary, but will be using freezer paper/starch method going forward.

I also  prepped two floral appliqué blocks that finish making up what will either be a wall hanging or a table topper.  I was surprised that it took the complete day but there it is.  I just got lost in my work and really never noticed the time passing until I was finished and realized there was no more day left.  Wow, been a while since I’ve done that.

001

003

Friday night was a surprise.  It was so hot and terribly humid all day Friday.  By the time I got home from work it was absolutely oppressive.  Then the sky got black and started rumbling and the lightning appeared, the rain came down in torrents, the wind was wrecking havoc with the trees and my poor fur babies were totally terrorized.  Poor Katie couldn’t find a suitable place to hide and kept going from one end of the house to the other and alternately following me around when I was checking the status of the storm.  Those deploring eyes of hers saying, “make it stop mom”.   I was helpless so I just sat letting her put her head in my lap and petted her trying to reassure her she would be okay.  I was thankful I have gotten in the habit of unplugging my dream machine (my Bernina) when not in use as we had a power surge and lost power for a few seconds.

I did receive a very nice gift from a friend this week.  I was given a copy of a magazine I had never heard of before, “Primitive Quilts and Projects”.  It covers not only quilting but wool projects and highlighted special projects by notable names in the quilting world such as Lynette Anderson, Jan Patek, as well as   designers from Blackbird Designs and many others.  I don’t consider myself a primitive style quilter although I do admire the work.  I recognized a particular design in the magazine that was used in part in a book “Birds of a Feather” by Blackbird Designs.  I have seen several quilts made from this book and the fabrics used were not what you would classify as primitive but more light and airy feeling.  I enjoyed seeing a variation using those birds.  It’s a combination of piecing and appliqué blocks, what I like to term “folkart”.  This is one of my personal favorites in quilting to combine to two.

UFO group tomorrow, looking forward to seeing everyone’s projects.

Happy Quilting

Sissy

About Sissy Malone

I've been actively sewing since Jr. High School. But specifically drawn to quilting since I was 17/18 years old. My grandmother was a quilter and I became fascinated with the process. I fell in love (awestruck) is a better word viewing applique quilts by Gladys Rashka at the Minnesota State Fair in the 70's. A love affair was born of applique quilts. I still machine piece, but am always drawn to applique. I took classes learning different techniques and also traveled to California and studied a whole week at Asilomar with Elly Sienkiewicz. Quilting is my passion. I am always open to learning a new technique but still rely on handwork. View all posts by Sissy Malone

One response to “Plodding along with purpose.

Leave a Reply

Appliquenut

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Rose Prairie Quilts and Farm

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Stitching Impressions

All aspects of longarm quilting

Texas Quilting

- Quilting in the Lone Star State

gladiquilts

This is the blog site for Gladi Porsche's Quilts

Esther's Quilt Blog

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Krista Withers Quilting

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

A Passion for Applique

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Glorious Applique

My UFO Adventure 12 Months 12 Projects

Ruthie quilts! And quilts...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Simple Bird Applique

Making a quilt.....one stitch at a time.

Tim Latimer - Quilts etc

My adventures in Quilting and Gardening

Quilting Sharon Runs...

What's happening in my life

Lucie The Happy Quilter's Blog

Tales of a Seasoned Quilt Maker

Wattlebird Designs

Quilting Patterns with a French accent

